skip to Main Content
Study To Be Tendered For Zagreb GK – Rijeka Railway Corridor

Study to be tendered for Zagreb GK – Rijeka railway corridor

Source: European Commission
Rijeka, Croatia (PortSEurope) May 17, 2020 – HŽ Infrastruktura (Croatian railways) has signed a contract with bidders for the preparation of documentation for study for the modernization of the M202 Zagreb GK – Rijeka railway, on the Oštarija – Škrljevo section, worth HRK 17.9 million (€2.37 million). Bidders include ŽPD Granova, Institut IGH, Rijekaprojekt and IPZ, and the deadline for the preparation of study documentation
is 16 months. The contract is the first phase of the implementation of the Grant Agreement concluded between HŽ Infrastruktura and the EU’s Executive Agency for Innovation and Networks (INEA), with a total value of €7 million. As part of the Agreement, in addition to the preparation of study documentation, which is a prerequisite for further preparation of project documentation, the preparation of a preliminary design and obtaining a location permit are also included. The EU’s Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) is providing 85% of the financing. The study will determine the optimal solution of the route of the railway and other infrastructure subsystems between Oštarije and Škrljevo, with two basic variants possible – modernization of the existing railway in the length of 113.9 kilometers, and construction of a completely new, much shorter route (length about 67 kilometers, which is laid by a new corridor with the construction of long tunnels through the mountain massifs of Mala and Velika Kapela, point out from HŽ Infrasturktura. The existing line on the section Oštarije – Škrljevo is part of the main railway line M202 Zagreb GK (Main Station) – Rijeka within the corridor RH2 and an integral part of the basic Trans-European transport network of the Mediterranean Corridor. The modernization of that railway section is part of the global project of modernization of the railway line Rijeka – Zagreb – Hungarian border, whose goal is the development of efficient and competitive railway traffic along the Mediterranean Corridor, the statement concludes. The Innovation and Networks Executive Agency (INEA) is the successor organisation of the Trans-European Transport Network Executive Agency (TEN-T EA), which was created by the European Commission in 2006 to manage the technical and financial implementation of its TEN-T programme. The Mediterranean Corridor crosses six EU countries (Spain, France, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia and Hungary), over more than 6.000 km alongthe route: Almeria – Valencia/Madrid – Zaragoza/Barcelona – Marseille – Lyon –Turin – Milan – Verona – Padua/Venice – Trieste/Koper – Ljubljana – Budapest – Záhony. Copyright (C) PortSEurope. All Rights Reserved. 2020.

To continue reading please subscribe or log in.

PortSEurope offers an English-language daily coverage from over 200 ports in the Mediterranean, Black and Caspian Seas as well as a fully indexed and easily searchable database with more than 15,000 articles.

Subscribe now
Back To Top