skip to Main Content
European Commission Accepts The Spanish Proposal For The Expansion Of The Atlantic And Mediterranean Transport Corridors

European Commission accepts the Spanish proposal for the expansion of the Atlantic and Mediterranean transport corridors

European Commission Accepts The Spanish Proposal For The Expansion Of The Atlantic And Mediterranean Transport Corridors

Brussels, Belgium (PortSEurope) June 8, 2018 – The European Commission has included in its proposal to review the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) the expansion of the Atlantic and Mediterranean Corridors requested by the Ministry of Development. The corridors will include in Spain the connections to the ports of the basic network that currently do not have it, such as Gijón, A Coruña, Huelva, Las Palmas, Tenerife and Palma de Mallorca.

This revision takes place in the course of the negotiation of the next multi-annual financial framework 2021-2027, and proposes that €30,600 million be allocated to finance the trans-European transport networks (CEF Regulation), prioritising, as in the current period, the European runners. Additionally, the regulation proposes priority financing itineraries in certain lines such as autonomous driving, and includes the entire Cantabrian road corridor between them.

Except for the €11,300 million destined to cohesion countries, Spain may opt to receive part of this budget for the development of a trans-European transport network that is efficient, sustainable, connected, inclusive and safe.

The Spanish proposal, prepared by the Ministry of Development, was sent in the month of December and included, already then, the entire length of the Atlantic and Mediterranean Corridors that is incorporated into the new Regulation. The approval process is now being initiated by the European Parliament and the Council, in view of its entry into force in 2021.

Specifically, the itineraries that are incorporated into the corridors are the following:

  • Coruña-Vigo-Orense-León
  • Gijón – León – Sale of Bathrooms
  • Huelva – Seville
  • Zaragoza – Pamplona / Logroño – Connection corridor
  • Fluvial route of the Guadalquivir
  • Maritime connections of the corridors with the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands

With the membership of brokers the connectivity, visibility and co-financing opportunities of these infrastructures are improved, but the obtaining of European funds for them is not guaranteed, since the estimated financial need for the complete development of the network is greater than the budget available.

The multimodal European corridors of the basic network established in Regulation EU 1316/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council, known as the CEF Regulation , constitute the main arteries of the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) within the European Union. They concentrate the main flows of goods and people, thus serving the majority of its population and businesses.

Two of the nine defined corridors run through Spain: the Atlantic and the Mediterranean and cross 10 of their 17 autonomous communities (NUTS 2): Andalusia, Murcia, Valencia, Catalonia, Extremadura, Castilla La Mancha, Madrid, Aragón, Castilla León and Basque Country.

Through this extension, the Autonomous Communities of Navarra, Rioja, Cantabria, Asturias and Galicia, the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands will benefit, with 8.5 million inhabitants (in 2016) and a gross domestic product of 188,916 million euros, which represents the 18.28% of the population that generates almost 17% of the total GDP of Spain.

In the current financial period 2014-2020 CEF funds for transport have been mainly destined to the corridors of the basic network. Thus, 85% of the funds to Spain have been allocated to actions in the Atlantic and Mediterranean corridors, either in infrastructures or in facilities over them, such as the ERTMS or the deployment of infrastructure to supply alternative fuels.

Source: Spanish Government

Copyright (C) PortSEurope. All Rights Reserved. 2018.

Back To Top